Queensryche band

L to R: Geoff Tate, Scott Rockenfield, Chris DeGarmo, Eddie Jackson, Michael Wilton

Hey Metalheads, Happy Wednesday. Hope you’re having a great week so far. Today we take a trip back to 1982 to the self-titled EP by Queensrcyhe which was released independently on 206 records and reissued in 1983 by EMI.

When Queensryche, originally called The Mob, were getting ready to go into the studio, they called upon singer Geoff Tate, who was in another band at the time, to sing on their upcoming recording. The band changed their name to Queensryche after “The Mob” was not available and released the EP which received glowing reviews and prompted Tate to leave his current band to join Queensryche full-time.

In support of the EP, Queensryche went out on tour and opened for bands like Quiet Riot and Twisted Sister. They released “Queen of the Reich” as a single and shot a video for the song. The classic lineup for the EP includes Geoff Tate – vocals, Michael Wilton and Chris DeGarmo – guitars, Eddie Jackson – bass and Scott Rockenfield – drums.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s