Happy Metal Wednesday. Continuing on with the Halloween spirit we take a trip back to 1986 to the second album by Metal Church called “The Dark.” This was the last Metal Church album to feature the lineup of  David Wayne – vocals, Kurdt Vanderhoof  and Craig Wells – guitars, Duke Erickson – bass and Kirk Arrington – drums.

metalchurchsong the dark

Pictures Courtesy of Flickr

The album dedicated to Metallica bassist Cliff Burton focuses on such dark themes as death and struggle. The band’s first music video for “Watch The Children Pray” received substantial airplay on MTV’s Headbangers Ball and the song “Ton of Bricks” was used as the opening song for Charlie Sheen’s 1987 movie ” No Man’s Land.” The track listing for The Dark is as follows:

  1. Ton Of Bricks
  2. Start The Fire
  3. Method To Your Madness
  4. Watch The Children Pray
  5. Over My Dead Body
  6. The Dark
  7. Psycho
  8. Line Of Death
  9. Burial At Sea
  10. Western Alliance

In 1998, Metal Church reunited with original singer David Wayne, however their reunion was short-lived when Wayne left the band for the second time in 2001. Sadly he passed away in 2005 due to complications from a car crash. While the band had called it quits in 2009, they reformed in 2012 with singer Ronny Munroe. Ronny however departed in 2014 and the band announced that singer Mike Howe, who sang with the band from 1988-1994 would officially rejoin the band. Currently, Metal Church are getting ready to release a new album this coming December called “Damned If You Do.”

Check out the video for “Watch The Children Pray” below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s